Asia-Pacific School and Workshop on Gravitation and Cosmology(APSW-GC) is a series of annual activities, which takes place in the Asia-Pacific region. It aims to promote understanding of frontier issues in gravitation and cosmology, to introduce and propose challenging problems to young physicists. It has been hosted by AP regions since 2007: Tainan(2007); Taitung(2008); Pohang(2009); Taitung(2010); Shanghai(2011); Kyoto(2012); Jeju-Island(2013); Taipei(2014); Singapore(2015); Changsha(2016); HongKong(2017); Shanghai(2018); Kyoto(2019); Daejeon(2020); Taipei(2022).    

The Asia-Pacific School and Workshop on Gravitation and Cosmology 2023 will be held at Hangzhou, China.  It will be  hosted by ICTP-AP(Beijing/Hangzhou), co-hosted by APCTP (Asia Pacific Center for Theoretical Physics), HIAS-UCAS (Hangzhou Institute of Advanced Study, University of Chinese Academy of Sciences), ITP-CAS (Institute of Theoretical Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences), NAOC (National Astronomical Observatories, Chinese Academy of Sciences), and ZJUT (Zhejiang University of Technology).  The synopsis/topics to be covered include: Black hole physics, Dark matter and dark energy, Gravitational waves and fundamental physics, Inflation and cosmology, etc.

The registration deadline is April 30th, 2023. 

The registration fee will be paid on-site: 1000RMB (~150USD).

Registration address:

Invited Lectures

Sang Pyo Kim (Kunsan National U): Black holes in Einstein-Maxwell and Yang-Mills theories [1-4]

Hong Lu (Tianjin University): Einstein Field Equations and Black Holes [1-4]

Robert Mann (Perimeter Institute): TBA [1-4]

Shinji Mukohyama (YITP, Kyoto U): Introduction to Modified Gravity [1-4]

Misao Sasaki (Kavli IPMU, Tokyo U): Probing Inflation with Primordial Black Holes and Gravitational Waves [1-4]

Tentative Schedule

May 15 (Mon)- 19(Fri): School lectures+ talks

May 20 (Sat) - 21(Sun): Workshop talks

Invited Speakers (to be confirmed)

Rong-Gen Cai (Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS)

Bin Chen (Peking University)

Chiang-Mei Chen (National  Central University)

Inyong Cho (Seoul National University of Science and Technology)

Bum-Hoon Lee (Sogang University)

Hyung Mok Lee (Seoul National University)

Tjonnie Li (Leuven University)

Yi Ling (Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS)

Yu-Xiao Liu (Lanzhou University)

Tadashi Takayanagi (Yukawa Institute for Theoretical Physics)

Takahiro Tanaka (Kyoto University)

Anzhong Wang (Baylor University)

Yue-Liang Wu (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences)


International Advisory Committee 

David Blair (University of Western Australia)

Rong-Gen Cai (Chinese Academy of Sciences/Chair)

Inyong Cho (Seoul National University of Science and Technology)

Chiang-Mei Chen (National Central U)

Sadakazu Haino (Academia Sinica)

Bala Iyer (International Centre for Theoretical Sciences)

Gungwon Kang (Chungang University)

Hyung Mok Lee (Seoul National University)

Kei-ichi Maeda (Waseda University)

Misao Sasaki (Kavli IPMU, Tokyo University)

Chopin Soo (National Cheng Kung University)

Takahiro Tanaka (Kyoto University)

Local Organizing Committee

Chao-Qiang Geng (Hangzhou Institute of Advanced Study, UCAS)

Huai-Ke Guo (ICTP-Asia Pacific)

Zong-Kuan Guo (Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS/co-Chair)

Qing-Guo Huang (Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS)

Li Li (Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS)

Yong-Liang Ma (Hangzhou Institute of Advanced Study, UCAS/Chair)

Min Zhang (ICTP-Asia Pacific)

Yun-Long Zhang (National Astronomical Observatories, CAS)

Tao Zhu (Zhejiang University of Technology)


Visa Letter: Ms. Fanzi Meng(;

Accommodation & Transport: Ms. Jingmin Zhang(

Venue (Near Qiandao Lake):