The 2022 Dirac Medal and Award Ceremony will take place in person on Monday 28 August 2023 at ICTP, in the Budinich Lecture Hall starting at 14:00 hrs CET. The event will be combined with the Graduation Ceremony of the 2022/2023 Class of Postgraduate Diploma Students during which the Qaisar and Monika Shafi Prize for an outstanding ICTP Postgraduate Diploma student will be awarded.

ICTP awarded its 2022 Dirac Medal to three distinguished physicists "for groundbreaking and mathematically rigorous contributions to the understanding of the statistical mechanics of classical and quantum physical systems".

The 2022 Dirac Medallists are:

Joel L. Lebowitz, Center for Mathematical Sciences Research, Rutgers, State University of New Jersey, USA

Elliott H. Lieb, Princeton University, USA

David P. Ruelle, Institut des Hautes Études Scientifiques, France

More information can be found at the following website:

The event will be livestreamed from the ICTP website:

Light refreshments will be served afterwards.

We look forward to seeing you on this special occasion!